PIDP reflections

Waterfront watercolour 2009

It seems appropriate to include my watercolour painting of a body of water and a shoreline when talking about “reflections”.  This is a small post card sized image that was an “out of my head” painting.  I visualized the scene and with a few brush strokes and limited palette created the waterfront image.  One of the final tasks I have in my course work for the PIDP course “Professional Practice” is to complete a reflective entry on my blog. I have taken the suggested questions provided as prompts as a foundation for my discussion below.

What is the most important thing you have learned?

Learning has been achieved on multiple levels.  I have learned practical tools and techniques in teaching including evaluation strategies, effective interaction with students, self awareness, and last but not least how to leverage the tools at our disposal to create digital products that can be used to teach and explain a concept or process.   The use of the blog as a tool, both to build skills sets in a web based environment but more importantly to drive research and review work — indeed developing and maintaining a blog was extremely useful.  My hesitation with the initial blog work was quickly eclipsed by the practical use a blog can have when you are developing and communicating information about a subject to a broad audience.  So, I learned practical things that I can use in the future, and experienced personal insight as I worked through the course material.

How has your thinking changed?

My thinking has been blessed with more self awareness.  What do I mean by that statement?  I feel like I have a deeper understanding of both the responsibility and opportunity that rests with a person responsible for instructing or training another individual.  Yes, individual–that is the key.  Everyone has their own individual perspective and motivation, and as an instructor or trainer this course work helps me to be better positioned to tap into those unique elements in each trainee or student.  Every day is a learning opportunity, for myself and those I encounter.

What actions will you take based on what you have learned?

I will continue to learn more about learning and teaching — and about myself.  It is that simple.  I continue to work towards completion of this program and appreciate the support and guidance provided by our VCC as we navigate this path.  Thank you Karen!

 

Leave a Reply

