Lifelong Learning

horse watersoluble graphite 2Lifelong learning is a key part of my life.  I have retired from one career, started another in my mid 50’s, am continuing to work towards certification in my current occupation and as a sideline, am taking the Provincial Instructor Diploma Program.  Instructing adults was a life long interest for me and I continue to enjoy the course work in the program.  With the demographic “bubble” of baby boomers reaching senior years, society needs to step up to the learning needs of the senior adult learner.  In some cases the ability to audit courses, or have reduced tuition costs may be available.  I think if you stop learning you stop growing, and if you stop growing you are on the path to declining health both mentally and physically.  I completed the horse pencil drawing on this posting a couple of years ago when I picked up art as a old/new endeavour.  This drawing came out of a “how to draw horses” workshop I attended — the workshop inspired me to continue to work with water soluble graphite and voila – a profile sketch of a horse…..

Have a look at this link to a Kiplinger article on Life long learning and retirees returning to school.  It is a sign of the times……our educational institutions need to be positioning for this trend.

Kiplinger – Retirees Returning to College

Leave a Reply

